BAMCon Previews: Backstage at BAMCon with Amelia Ritner

BAMCon Coordinator Amelia Ritner.

BAMCon Coordinator Amelia Ritner.

In Anticipation of BAMCon, I am pleased to be hosting a “behind the scenes” interview with Amelia Ritner, Assistant Organizer at BAMCon!

*

Q: Well for starters, what are one or two (or a few) things that you hope to see at next month’s BAMCon?

Amelia: We definitely hope to see a large attendance; I think that’s always number one on our list. But I’m also looking forward to seeing more Cosplayers as well as people genuinely interested in our con in particular (maybe wearing a t-shirt from last year’s con.) 🙂

*

Q: And how did you wind up falling into your job in regard to the convention?

Amelia: I started going to Berkshire Anime Club Meetings. When I heard they were in the planning stages of their first convention, I offered to help out. I ended up taking a much bigger chunk of work than I thought I would, but I’m happy with it.

*

Q: Take us “back-stage” at a fantasy convention. What would you say is the most surprising thing about working on one of these projects, something my readers might not guess?

Amelia: I’d have to say you’d be surprised at how much planning is still going on so close to the actual convention date. Some jobs still aren’t quite finished yet.

*

Q: How about the most rewarding aspect of the job?

Amelia: Seeing convention fans recognize me as an organizer. It’s nice to feel appreciated. 🙂

*

Q: And what about the most challenging part of coordinating a convention?

Amelia: That would be finalizing a budget. It’s harder than you think getting a concrete number together for something like this.

*

Q: The “BAM” in BAM stands for “Berkshire Anime and Manga”, are there some specific anime or manga that you would recommend to a newbie who are unfamiliar with the genre?

Amelia: That would depend what they prefer. There is some anime that attracts everyone, like a Miyazaki film (My Neighbor Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle), but there is also sort of “boy anime” versus “girl anime.” I’m partial to Sailor Moon, personally, but I do enjoy some “boy anime,” like Hellsing and Berserk.

*

Q: Who (or what) is your favorite anime character?

Amelia: Sailor Jupiter from Sailor Moon.

Amelia_Ritner_Sailor_Jupiter3

Amelia cosplays one of her favorite characters, Sailor Jupiter of Sailor Moon.

Q: Fantasy, gaming, comic book, and related conventions seems to be gaining in popularity. Do you have any theories about why that might be?

Amelia: Honestly? Nerds are growing up, and wanting to see more of the things they remember from childhood. Nostalgia is becoming a good business to be in right now, and nerds from back in my day are having little nerdling kids to create a new generation of love for an entertaining escape from reality.

*

Q: Complete the following statement: “If I see a ____________ at BAMCon next month, I will just ___________…”

Amelia: I know this is a bit more mainstream than fans are used to, but if I see a good Archer cosplay group, I will just squeal with joy.

*

Q: Finally, if any of my readers happens to bump into you at BAM-Con, what should they say to you?

Amelia: If I’m sitting down, by all means, say hello! If I’m walking with a purpose, then just stand back– I’m probably about to avert a crisis. It’s going to be a stressful weekend for me.

BAMCONLogo2013

Thanks Amelia for taking the time out of your busy schedule for this interview!

If you enjoyed this interview, consider checking out my interview with Will Liam of +2 Comedy or with cosplayer/ pro-belly dancer Kiwii.

and here’s a tiny url for this post: http://tinyurl.com/caw72wg
About Armand Inezian

Armand Inezian is an English instructor by day, and a grant administrator by later-in-the-day, and a writer by night! VampCon- a dark, fantasy thriller- is his first novel. He resides in Boston with his wife, two children, three cats, and one house that needs a lot of work.
This entry was posted in Convention, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BAMCon Previews: Backstage at BAMCon with Amelia Ritner

  1. Pingback: BAMCon Previews: Bring on The Jokers: +2 Comedy Crew. | Armand Inezian- Author of VampCon

  2. Pingback: BAMCon Previews: Tribal Fusion Belly Dancing w/ Kiwii | Armand Inezian- Author of VampCon

  3. Pingback: BAMCon Previews: Fan~thropolgy with Charles Dunbar. | Armand Inezian- Author of VampCon

  4. Pingback: BAMCon Preview: Destroyed-by-Robots Illustrator Paul Hollingsworth | Armand Inezian- Author of VampCon

Leave a Reply

