On the cost of books.

Doctor_Strange_Banner_Mix_2Last week I spent $60 to purchase a book. Sixty! I got a used version of Doctor Strange Volume 1, part of the Marvel Masterworks series. Not including some very expensive textbooks that I had to buy for college, that’s a record for me!

The upshot is that I felt jittery and even kind of guilty! Who was I, after all, to blow that much money on a book? When it comes to books (and I say this both as a writer and huge fan of literature) I’m something of a cheapskate. I like buying books on sale, for Kindle, and I (especially) like used books. I often visit my library. I tend to only buy hardcover books at full price if I am at an author event, like a book signing, or if I am buying a book as a gift.

But since then, I have reconsidered my buyer’s remorse. Here’s why: my family cable bill. Full disclosure: Each month we pay $150 to RCN for cable. Now, that actually includes our home phone and internet connection, so it’s not ALL for TV, so let’s say $50 each month goes to pay for TV. That’s $600 dollars a year!

And that does not include movies. Last week, I took both my kids to a matinee showing of The Lego Movie and bought one large popcorn, Total cost of admission and snack was about $30. And that $600 figure also doesn’t include the occasional streaming movie rental or DVD purchase. All-in-all, I would guess that my family spends about $1,000 per year on video entertainment of various kinds. And- surprisingly- I don’t feel guilty about that at all!

By comparison, we probably spend a measly $30-$40 per month on books (for all four of us). So let’s say our book budget  is closer to $350 per year. Anyway, that’s the kind of math that made me feel a bit better about a very rare book buy!

About Armand Inezian

Armand Inezian is an English instructor by day, and a grant administrator by later-in-the-day, and a writer by night! VampCon- a dark, fantasy thriller- is his first novel. He resides in Boston with his wife, two children, three cats, and one house that needs a lot of work.
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the cost of books.

  1. 53bryanm says:

    I still love the feeling and smell of the Ink of a new hardback book, or a new Dark Horse graph novel or manga. DH has the best ink. I spend around $100 a month and have no room in my house. I also have my ebook also for my favorite authors who only write ebooks. I have tried used books or library books but they either smell of cigarettes or have strange stains. I have purchased used in mint condition but have paid the mint price.

    So I don’t think you are over spending if it is a book you have been looking for and find. But as long as they keep printing I will keep putting out the green.

Leave a Reply

